“We look forward to working with lawmakers on both sides of the aisle to bring Michigan’s unregulated, unlicensed cannabis market in line with the rest of the cannabis industry to help ensure safe, high-quality cannabis is available for all Michiganders.”
In a statement, Rep. Jim Lilly, R-Park Township, said the proposed legislation would create safety standards for marijuana products that aren’t sold on a commercial scale.
By limiting the amount of patients a caregiver could sell to, the package, dubbed the Michigan Cannabis Safety Act, would limit caregivers to growing 12 plants, whereas they currently can grow up to 60 if they have five patients (or 12 plants for every patient). Marijuana plants would also have to be grown in an indoor, secure facility.
In June, the Anderson Economic Group published a study commissioned by the MCMA which found around 70 percent of all cannabis transactions in Michigan do not involve a retailer.
HOLLAND — Lawmakers in the Michigan House of Representatives have introduced a plan to update the way the state licenses marijuana growers who sell products to patients as caregivers.
Under changes proposed in House Bills 5300-5302, caregivers would have to register for a Specialty Medical Grower license. With an SMG license, caregivers would only be allowed to sell to a single individual, or patient. Currently, caregivers can sell to up to five different people.
“Michigan’s unregulated cannabis market poses an immediate threat to the health of all Michiganders, and the Michigan Cannabis Safety Act updates outdated laws to help ensure all Michiganders have access to tested, tracked and labeled cannabis products,” said Shelly Edgerton, MCMA Board chair, in a statement.
“I support speedy passage of this important legislation to help promote cannabis safety, transparency and accountability in a regulated cannabis market. These bills reflect the will of voters who approved medical marijuana and legalization of cannabis in our state.”
The proposed legislation has been met with pushback from some caregivers who view the changes as infringements on their ability to grow and sell marijuana to patients. A group called Michigan Caregivers United has organized rallies at the Michigan Capitol in Lansing to voice opposition to the changes in question.
Of course, while growing and using is legal, law enforcement officials are reminding residents that marijuana will be treated like alcohol: You can’t drive while under the influence, and using it openly in public can get you arrested.
But how much can you grow and where can you grow it?
According to the new Michigan law, a person who is at least 21 years old is allowed no more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana within his or her place of residence unless any excess marijuana is stored in a container or area equipped with locks “or other functioning security devices that restrict access to the contents of the container or area.”
Michigan is first in Midwest
That makes Michigan’s household marijuana cultivation law the least strict out of all of the states.
The sale of 45 kilograms or more is a felony, which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000,000.
An adult who possesses more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana within a residence must store the excess amount in a secure container. Possession of more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 5.0 ounces of marijuana is a civil infraction punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and forfeiture of the marijuana for a first offense.
Possession in or within 1,000 feet of a park is either a felony or a misdemeanor, based on the judge’s discretion, and is punishable by a maximum of 2 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.
Every state criminalizes driving under the influence of a controlled substance. Some jurisdictions also impose additional per se laws. In their strictest form, these laws forbid drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug or drug metabolite (i.e., compounds produced from chemical changes of a drug in the body, but not necessarily psychoactive themselves) present in their bodily fluids above a specific, state-imposed threshold. Read further information about cannabinoids and their impact on psychomotor performance. Additional information regarding cannabinoids and proposed per se limits is available online.
An adult may grow up to 12 marijuana plants at the adult’s residence for personal use.