Posted on

growing marijuana in virginia

—Buying or selling cannabis seeds or cannabis products.

Virginia is joining 17 other states with laws allowing adults to possess and consume marijuana. Under the new law that goes into effect Thursday, adults 21 and older may legally possess up to one ounce of marijuana and can grow up to four plants per household. But buying or selling marijuana will still be illegal, other than under the state’s medical marijuana program.

State officials are beginning the process of setting up a new state entity to develop regulations for a legal marijuana marketplace expected to open on Jan. 1, 2024.

—Sharing of up to one ounce in private, by adults, but no payment or other financial compensation is allowed.

WHAT’S STILL ILLEGAL:

—Possession or use of marijuana by anyone under the age of 21.

WHAT COMES NEXT:

4. For possession of more than 100 marijuana plants, a felony punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than 10 years and a fine of not more than $250,000, or both.

A person may only cultivate marijuana plants pursuant to this section at such person’s main place of residence.

1. For possession of more than four marijuana plants but no more than 10 marijuana plants, (i) a civil penalty of $250 for a first offense, (ii) a Class 3 misdemeanor for a second offense, and (iii) a Class 2 misdemeanor for a third and any subsequent offense;

3. For possession of more than 49 but no more than 100 marijuana plants, a Class 6 felony; and

§ 4.1-1101. Home cultivation of marijuana for personal use; penalties.

B. A person who cultivates marijuana for personal use pursuant to this section shall:

2. Take precautions to prevent unauthorized access by persons younger than 21 years of age; and

C. A person shall not manufacture marijuana concentrate from home-cultivated marijuana. The owner of a property or parcel or tract of land may not intentionally or knowingly allow another person to manufacture marijuana concentrate from home-cultivated marijuana within or on that property or land.

2. For possession of more than 10 but no more than 49 marijuana plants, a Class 1 misdemeanor;

D. The following penalties or punishments shall be imposed on any person convicted of a violation of this section:

“It’s very frustrating that we don’t have a direct legal path to acquiring seeds,” Ickes said. “That is going to lead people down the road of finding seeds that are not legal and there may not be a safe way to do that.”

“Everything you need…except the seeds”

Anderson said four plants, if grown properly, can produce a years-worth of marijuana.

“People have to read the fine print”

While Virginians are allowed to possess up to an ounce of marijuana in public, Anderson said lawmakers set no clear limits on how much pot can be kept in a private residence.