Posted on

growing marijuana in wisconsin

Growing marijuana in wisconsin

If you are caught with between 200 grams and 1,000 grams, you could face up to six years in prison and $10,000 in fines.

Marijuana possession, sale, and manufacture are illegal under Wisconsin law. If you are caught in possession of marijuana, and it is your first offense, it is considered a misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Subsequent offenses are felonies with much harsher penalties. Sometimes possession of small amounts of marijuana are treated as municipal violations, which are non-criminal and carry only money forfeitures. If you have been arrested for possession of marijuana, you should check with a qualified attorney to determine exactly what your situation is. It can be confusing if you don’t have experience in this area.

Under Wisconsin law, it is illegal to possess or sell drug paraphernalia, which includes any items used to grow, sell, or store marijuana. Typical paraphernalia includes pipes and bongs used to smoke marijuana. Penalties for possession include a fine of up to $500 and up to 30 days in prison. Penalties for selling drug paraphernalia are much more severe, including a $1,000 fine and up to 90 days in jail, or both.

Wisconsin has recently seen ongoing marijuana prosecutions despite the move toward legalization nationally. Facing marijuana charges can be just as daunting as those involving any other controlled substances. Depending on the amount of marijuana you were caught with, the charge can be serious and the penalty can be equally harsh. Marijuana charges are criminal in Wisconsin, which means you could be facing prison time depending on the facts of your specific case. At Reddin & Singer, our highly skilled Milwaukee based criminal defense attorneys are extremely knowledgeable when it comes to the ins and outs of marijuana laws. No matter what the facts of your case are, we can help.

If you have less than 200 grams, you could face up to 3.5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.

It is illegal to sell any amount of marijuana in Wisconsin, which includes possession with the intent to sell. Penalties depend on the amount possessed, cultivated, or sold. The more marijuana you possess with the intent to sell or deliver, the longer the potential prison term and the higher the fine:

Having an excess of 10,000 grams of marijuana carries the most severe penalty, which is up to 15 years in prison and $25,000 in fines.

The sale or cultivation of between 2,500 and 10,000 grams (51-200 plants) is punishable by up to $25,000 fine and/or 12 years and 6 months imprisonment.

The sale of paraphernalia it is a misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and/or 90 days of imprisonment.

Paraphernalia

The sale or cultivation of over 10,000 grams (more than 200 plants) is punishable with a maximum of 15 years imprisonment and/or a $25,000 fine.

The sale or cultivation of between 200 and 1,000 grams (5-12 plants) is a felony, punishable by up to $10,000 fine and/ or 6 years in prison.

More Information

A first offense for possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment of up to 6 months. A second offense is a Class I felony and is punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 3.5 years.