If you’re dedicated to growing outdoors during the warmer months, we can help with that, too. Plan to find a space that is more discreet than where you keep your prize rose bushes.
Enjoy it! You are welcome to smoke, vape, cook, make tinctures, or do pretty much whatever you want with your harvest—with just a few exceptions.
Where Can You Grow?
Are you an adult 21 and over? You can grow up to six plants in your home. Married? Living in sin? Got a couple roommates? A household that consists of more than one 21+ adult is allowed to grow up to 12 plants. But that’s it! No more, regardless of how many grad students you can stuff in an old Victorian.
But the Massachusetts cannabis law also contains a section that allows for folks to grow their own cannabis at home—and that provision kicked in immediately as the new law took effect. Whether you’re wanting to avoid long dispensary lines or are just curious about flexing your green thumb, here’s what you need to know if you want to grow cannabis at home.
How Do I Start?
For growers just starting out, growing indoors is a popular choice. You can designate a small grow space in your home, add some locks, and ensure that nobody can see them from outside.
Vape concentrates must also be tested for vitamin E acetate.
Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Neither drivers nor passengers may consume marijuana in a vehicle. Consumption is generally banned in public but the Commission does allow local jurisdictions to set their own rules around cafes, smoke rooms, or other options for social consumption.
Adults age 21 and older can purchase 1 ounce of cannabis or 5 grams of concentrate from licensed marijuana retailers. Adult-use cannabis is subject to a 6.25% sales tax, a 10.75% state excise tax, and a potential municipal tax of up to 3%. As such, most adult-use consumers could encounter a total tax rate of about 20%.
While medical and adult-use cannabis are now legal in Massachusetts, both patients and consumers still face penalties for violating what is allowable under state law . Specifically, public consumption of cannabis or smoking it where smoking tobacco is prohibited can result in a fine of $100, and possessing an open container of cannabis in a vehicle can result in a fine of $500.
Is weed legal in Boston?
Any other condition considered debilitating by the patient’s health-care provider may be a qualifying condition.
Qualified patients can register with the Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMP) to access cannabis for medical use. Patients must meet with and receive certification from a health-care provider before they can register for the MMP. Registration must be renewed annually by both patients and caregivers, though registry ID cards are good for three years. Patients must also maintain active certifications from their original health-care providers. There’s no charge for patients or caregivers to register with MMP.
Registered patients can find licensed dispensaries in Massachusetts and search by cities including Boston, Worcester, and North Hampton. Many dispensaries in Massachusetts offer delivery and curbside pickup services in addition to storefront sales.
Medical marijuana registry
Any individual 21 years of age and older may grow up to six plants per person or up to 12 plants per household in their home. Cannabis from home cultivation doesn’t count towards the 10 ounces people are allowed to possess at home. The Commission offers guidelines on growing cannabis at home in compliance with the law.
The Commission offers a fact sheet on adult consumption in Massachusetts .
How to carry products with you while you are traveling in Massachusetts
The short answer is to carry marijuana and marijuana products in a concealed and enclosed manner. When purchasing products, they will be given to you in a sealed bag or case. This is perfect to store your products within your luggage, car or other personal property when you are in public. The idea is to keep your products secure and out of sight. When traveling with children or pets, you should be especially cautious about keeping products locked up and out of reach.
Driving under the influence
Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal. Period. If you are consuming cannabis products while visiting Massachusetts, make sure there is a sober driver and never get behind the wheel after you have consumed any amount of cannabis. If you need to get from place to place after consuming cannabis, consider a rideshare, such as a cab, Uber or Lyft. Keep in mind that the impairment effects of edible marijuana may be delayed by two hours or more. Like alcohol, you may not have an open container of adult-use marijuana/marijuana products in the passenger area of your car while on the road or at a place where the public has access.
Not all hotels or other rental accommodations are cool with consumption
For visitors who abide by the “no public consumption” rules, there are only a few options left for them as far as locations to consume their legally purchased cannabis products. While some people may be staying with friends or family in private residences, others will be staying in a hotel or other rental property. Be sure to check with any kind of rental or hotel accommodations before consuming cannabis products – whether by smoking, vaping, eating or otherwise – on their premises. Some property owners or managers are okay with cannabis use, while some are strictly opposed to consumption on their property. Don’t get kicked out of your accommodations because you didn’t follow the rules. Massachusetts currently does not license social consumption or mixed-use establishments such as marijuana consumption bars or yoga studios.
Overview of Adult Use Marijuana in Massachusetts
Public consumption is not allowed
While it is legal to possess cannabis products in public, any consumption of marijuana in public or smoking marijuana in an area where smoking tobacco is prohibited is also in violation of the law. Non-locals might think that Massachusetts residents walk down the street smoking cannabis like tobacco, but that is completely false. Don’t make this mistake and end up with serious consequences.
Have your ID ready
First of all, remember that you have to be 21 to purchase and consume cannabis legally. No exceptions. And there will be no fooling a dispensary or getting by without an official government issued ID the way some people get around the law when it comes to buying alcohol under age. The rules are strict with cannabis sales and your ID will be checked and rechecked before you are allowed into the establishment, let alone to make a purchase.
Taking your cannabis with you
Taking any amount of cannabis with you when you return home outside the state of Massachusetts is illegal and should under no circumstances be attempted. The possession of cannabis in any form is no longer legal as soon as you cross a state line, and the possession of any cannabis product is also prohibited in Massachusetts airports. Don’t risk the state or federal consequences and leave all cannabis products behind in Massachusetts when you depart.
Out-of-towners’ guide to purchasing cannabis in Massachusetts
Marijuana is legal in Massachusetts for people 21 and older, but that doesn’t mean you can use it anywhere you want. Here are some basics about the law:
For more information about the regulations that govern what you can and can’t do, how much you can grow and have, and when and where it’s okay to use, visit MoreAboutMj.org.