Only persons 21 years of age or older may work on the premises of a marijuana establishment. This prohibition even extends to individuals working on other crops on the same premises.
Please complete all required fields below.
A licensee must add their beginning investor to Metric. Clones are to be entered as strain- specific immature batches. The maximum number of clones per batch is 100. Further, the licensee is required to tag each clone once it reaches 8 inches. All the clone packages must be strain- specific, and the item name must include the word clones. Strain names are required. Mystery strains are not permitted.
Cultivators must select their cultivation tier which determines the square footage of the canopy that can be cultivated and the associated licensing fee that must be paid.
Contact Our Firm
A licensee is not permitted to send whole wet plants to a different licensee to dry, cure, and package into bud and trim packages and test on their behalf.
Gibson’s son, Joe Gibson, is the head grower for the company and said the microbusiness license gives them the opportunity to focus on craft cultivation and branding for their products.
That’s why the residency requirement of the license, in particular, was important to Flanagan.
Joe Gibson, standing, talks with his uncle, Dave Deuitch, in the office at Gibby's Garden in Uxbridge. Craig F. Walker/Globe Staff/Globe Staff
As the Massachusetts marijuana industry continues to grow, state regulators hope one particular program will give aspiring entrepreneurs who live in the state an advantage to launch their own small businesses.
“It’s just more of a feasible way for a smaller company to start out,” she said.
The Commission will review the application based on its priority status and when it was submitted. Once the Commission reviews the application, the applicant will be notified via email.
Research the laws and regulations governing adult-use or medical-use marijuana for more information about the regulatory requirements for licensure in the city or town you wish to operate.
Begin researching and writing the operational plans for your business—you’ll need these plans later when you submit your application to the Commission. All plans must be compliant with adult-use or medical-use regulations.
Step 5: Submit Your Application
Within 90 days of your license application, the Commission will issue either a provisional license or a rejection. The Commission will perform inspections and request that background checks and fingerprinting be performed by all individuals listed on the license.
Have questions about the licensing process? Contact us at 774-415-0200 or [email protected]
This is a general overview of the licensing process for Marijuana Establishments (MEs) and Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers (MTCs) in Massachusetts.
Some municipalities, such as the City of Boston, require additional steps before submitting your application to the Commission. You may wish to speak with the municipality and inquire about the necessary requirements for operating a Marijuana Establishment within the area. View the status of municipal zoning and bylaws by city or town .
State law requires the adult-use cannabis industry in Massachusetts to include participation by small and large participants. The Cannabis Control Commission offers applicants of all sizes the opportunity to contribute through a wide range of licenses types, including cultivators, craft marijuana cooperatives, product manufacturers, retailers, research facilities, independent testing laboratories and standard laboratories, transporters, and microbusinesses.