Please note that all data is self-reported and adjusted for voided transactions.
Learn more about how to
renew your Patient status.
Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers offer tested products with detailed packaging and labeling information about product contents and statewide access for patients. Under Massachusetts law, the sale of medical-use marijuana is not subject to tax. Additional datasets can be found in our Data Catalog.
Learn about what it means
to be a Caregiver of the
Medical Use of Marijuana Program.
Find a Retailer
Everything Personal Caregivers
need to know about renewing
Everything you need to know
about becoming a Registered Qualifying Patient
of the Medical Use of Marijuana Program.
Find out what’s legal—and what isn’t—in Massachusetts.
Log in to the Medical Use of Marijuana Program Online System for Registered Qualifying Patients and Caregivers.
Search for a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (MTC) near you.
Just like alcohol, it’s illegal to have an open container of any form of marijuana in the passenger area of a car. An individual may receive a civil penalty of up to $500 for having an open container of marijuana in the passenger area of a vehicle while on the road or at a place where the public has access. Store marijuana in a closed container and place in your trunk or a locked glove compartment.
Massachusetts law allows you to grow up to six cannabis plants in your home for personal use, or up to 12 plants for two or more adults. Learn more about Home Cultivation.
Only Registered Qualifying Patients who are residents of Massachusetts or their Caregivers are allowed to purchase medical marijuana.
There’s a limit to how much you can carry.
The colocated regulations, 935 CMR 502.000, were repealed and incorporated into the adult- and medical-use regulations.
You cannot send marijuana by mail—even to states and countries where marijuana use is legal.
As the Commission continues to implement regulatory changes that were promulgated in January 2021, information contained on these webpages may require updates and/or verification by applicants and licensees in order to maintain compliance. Thank you for your understanding.
It’s illegal to drive while under the influence of cannabis. Take public transportation, contact a ride-share, or catch a lift with a sober friend.
The regulations linked on our website are unofficial and for informational purposes only. Official versions, including prior versions, can be purchased at the State Bookstore at: www.sec.state.ma.us/spr/sprcat/catidx.htm.
An adult who possesses more than one ounce of marijuana or marijuana products must secure the products with a lock.
Possession with Intent to Distribute
All money or proceeds that can be traced to a sale of marijuana are subject to forfeiture.
The manufacture, distribution, dispensing, or possession with intent to manufacture, distribute, or dispense Hashish to a minor under eighteen years is punishable by up to fifteen years imprisonment in a state prison or two and one half years in a jail or house of correction, as well as a fine of between $1,000 – $25,000. There is a mandatory minimum sentence of two years imprisonment.